Biography

Elisabeth Tester

From facts to stories.

Bringing economic information to life is my core competence. Turning facts into stories. Stories which an investor or client will value. Facts do not have to be boring or complex. Facts are always fascinating and deserve to be presented in an exciting way.

 

Economics

I lectured quantitative methods and regulation/compliance in preparation courses for the Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA) and Financial Risk Managers (FRM) exams. As an instructor for macroeconomics, risk management and mathematics of finance for Credit Suisse, UBS and Zürcher Kantonalbank, my interest in banking was formed.

Economics is my foundation.

 

Banking

As a performance analyst I started at UBS Wealth Management & Business Banking in the Investment Solutions department. As an investment writer I was responsible for the internal and external communication regarding the performance and strategy of the banks investment products.

Banking was my profession.

 

Journalism

As an editor for the markets team of Switzerland’s leading financial newspaper «Finanz und Wirtschaft», my writing style was polished and fine-tuned. As head of the markets team I learned to answer the questions: «What is really important? Which is the best story?» As China correspondent for «Finanz und Wirtschaft» based in Shanghai, I gained insight into a new and incredibly interesting world.

Writing is my passion.

 

All together results in From facts to stories.

 

For the sake of completeness....

1983 Qualification for university entrance at Swiss Alpine Secondary School (SAMD) in Davos
1984 – 1989 Studies and Masters degree in Econometrics and Economics, University of Zurich
1986 First study trip to China
1987 – 1989 Assistant to Prof. Bruno S. Frey at the Institute for Empirical Research in Economics at the University of Zurich
1990 – 2004 Elisabeth Tester Consulting and Econometrics
2002 FRM Exam (Global Association of Risk Professionals), London
2004 – 2008 Director, UBS AG, investment writer
2009 – 2014 «Finanz und Wirtschaft», head of the markets team, China correspondent based in Shanghai
[ DTP ]

Biografie

Elisabeth Tester

From facts to stories.

Fakten zu Geschichten machen ist meine Kernkompetenz. Wirtschaft in eine Story verwandeln. Geschichten, die der Investor und der Kunde gerne lesen. Weil Fakten nicht langweilig und komplex daher kommen müssen. Weil Fakten immer spannend sind, und es verdienen, spannend vermittelt zu werden.

 

Ökonomie

Als Dozentin von Vorbereitungskursen für Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA) und Financial Risk Managers (FRM) in den Fächern Quantitative Analysis und Regulation and Compliance wurde ich von den Kursteilnehmern gefordert und gefördert. Als Instruktorin für Volkswirtschaftslehre, Risikomanagement und Finanzmathematik für Credit Suisse, UBS, und ZKB wurde mein Interesse fürs Banking geweckt.

Ökonomie ist meine Basis.

 

Banking

Als Performanceanalystin habe ich im Wealth Management & Business Banking in der Abteilung Investment Solutions bei UBS begonnen. Als Investment Writer und Verantwortliche für die interne und externe Kommunikation zu Performance und Strategie der Anlageprodukte der Bank habe ich bei UBS aufgehört.

Banking war mein Beruf.

 

Journalismus

Als Redaktorin des Märkte-Teams der «Finanz und Wirtschaft» wurde mein Schreibstil poliert und geschliffen. Als Leiterin des Märkte-Teams lernte ich die Fragen zu beantworten: «Was ist wichtig? Welches ist die beste Story?» Als Chinakorrespondentin von «Finanz und Wirtschaft» in Schanghai hat sich mir nochmals eine ganz neue, unglaublich interessante Welt eröffnet.

Schreiben ist meine Leidenschaft.

 

All das zusammen gibt From facts to stories.

 

Der Vollständigkeit halber...

1983 Matura B an der Schweizerischen Alpinen Mittelschule (SAMD), Davos
1984 – 1989 Studium und Lizenziat in Ökonometrie und Volkswirtschaft an der Universität Zürich
1986 Erste Studienreise nach China
1987 – 1989 Assistentin bei Prof. Bruno S. Frey, Institut für empirische Wirtschaftsforschung der Universität Zürich
1990 – 2004 Elisabeth Tester Consulting and Econometrics
2002 FRM Exam (Global Association of Risk Professionals), London
2004 – 2008 Director, UBS AG, Investment Writer
2009 – 2014 «Finanz und Wirtschaft», Leiterin Ressort Märkte, Chinakorrespondentin in Schanghai
[ DTP ]